Monday, December 31, 2007

The blog is temporarily out of service

It's been some months that it was impossible for me to keep the promise of constantly updating Athens Daily Photo. Although this city has amazingly lot of icons to show and pictures to shoot, the extremely long working hours keep me away from the streets and where the true heart of this city beats.

So, I decided to take a long break. I will come back as soon as I have a photo inventory large enough to keep the (almost) daily updating.

Thank you everybody so much for your visits and comments.

Hope to return soon.

Friday, December 21, 2007

"Little People"

Metro art from Yannis Gaitis

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Bad Parking again

Remember these posts about people parking all the time at disabled's ramps and pedestrians-only streets?

Here, they actually park on handicapped peoples' spaces (every single such parking spot is taken but not one wheelchair in the store....hhmmmm). 

As if this was not enough, the idiot with the black Peugeot parked on the walkway. 

Needless to say, noone is ever complaining, noone is ever been fined. 

What happens in your own country?

Monday, December 17, 2007

Christmas is near

A very nice photo from Maria Evripidou. «I saw on your website that people are allowed to send their own photo. So here is mine for now: fountain at Sintagma during christmas time»

Thank you so much Maria

Saturday, December 15, 2007

Fierce and curvy

Dimitra sent me this nice pic. She says that in Germany, piglets are considered a good luck. Let's hope that it brings some good luck to this blog that hadn't seen a post for a month :-)

A visitor's photo

G Tas, a visitor to Athens kai to ADP, sent me this nice photograph.
«Here is one I got recently when I was in Athens. There are several irrelevant things together, and the result is unique and Athenian»

Thursday, November 15, 2007

Road training

When trains go astray in the highway. This one almost hit the bridge that was supposed to slip under. I was lucky enough to pass by at the right moment :-)

Tuesday, November 13, 2007

Olympic fixer

I took this photo during a visit to Olympic Airlines tech base. It makes me think of all the people who take care of us while we 're up there having the time of our lives.

Tuesday, November 06, 2007

Now and then

Behind the construction equipment of the new Acropolis museum, lies this building that used to be the first military hospital in Athens, erected in 1834. 

Some artist depicted it while it was brand new.

Sunday, October 28, 2007

Air plant

You would think that it was planted and grown right there. :-)

Thursday, October 25, 2007

Has the rain stopped yet?

Too much rain last week in Athens. Now dry.

Tuesday, October 23, 2007


You 've probably heard many stories about people who spent their entire lives in internet cafes, like this for example. The first sign show what happens to a gamer when he spends too much time online.

The second one show what happens to an internet cafe when it's out of business.

Friday, October 19, 2007

Athenian horses and Polish bisons

Remember the horse from an old, last year's post? Kjola, the daily photoblogger from Katowice, Poland, found a bison in her own hometown! Here is the photo and here is her blog.

Wednesday, October 17, 2007

Monday, October 15, 2007

Fierce animals revisited 2

It's been a while since I posted some dangerous and blood-thirsty animals so here they are. 

Saturday, October 13, 2007

Thursday, October 11, 2007

Of men and hands

When the same gesture, for completely different men, means the same thing. "Lets go!". Humans always used the same body language, either the humble Greek sailor or the ruthless Korean dictator.
(Uknown Sailor, Andros, Greece. Second photo Kim Il Sung, taken from

Tuesday, October 09, 2007

Returning to Athens

After a short break, the blog is back in business. 

Sunday, September 30, 2007

Jump the park

In Sintagma square, just opposite the Parliament, the flying skaters are practicing their magic tricks.
No skater was hurt during this shooting :-)

Sunday, September 23, 2007

Athens and New York are getting closer

The first photo is in New York Metro and was taken by my friend Nikos (here is the post in his own blog). I took the second one in Athens. Both are promoting the new Continental Airlines Athens-New York route.

It's exciting to look how the same thing is promoted in both sides of the trip.

Friday, September 21, 2007

Wednesday, September 19, 2007

Monday, September 17, 2007

Another door to the sea

After this door in Santorini here is another one in Syros.

Saturday, September 15, 2007

Cruiser "Averof"

Georgios Averof is a Greek warship which served as the flagship of the Royal Hellenic Navy during most of the first half of the 20th Century. It is an armored cruiser and the only such ship still in existence.

Launced in 1910, it served during WWI and WW2 and was decomissioned in 1952.

Today serves as a museum and is docked in Faliron.
In Wikimapia
A photographic tour

Naval Museum
Detailed history of the ship

Friday, September 14, 2007


The official entrance to former Syggros estate (see previous post here).

Thursday, September 13, 2007

Big Fish

A rather unlucky yellow fin tuna.

Tuesday, September 11, 2007

White on black

In Kamari, Santorini, the beach is full of black pebbles, probably because of the volcanic nature of the whole island. I took this photo in late afternoon, just after sunset.

Sunday, September 09, 2007

Friday, September 07, 2007

Wednesday, September 05, 2007